The Electrical Engineering Study Program (EESP) at Hasanuddin University, Makassar, Indonesia was founded in 1963 as a part of the Faculty of Engineering established a few years earlier. The campus was originally located at Baraya, near the downtown of Ujung Pandang which was the old name of the city of Makassar. In early 1980s, the university campus was relocated to Tamalanrea, about 10 km north-east of downtown Makassar. More than 30 years later, the Faculty of Engineering was relocated again to its new campus at Gowa, 20 km south of Tamalanrea, and the EESP - under the Department of Electrical Engineering - officially settled at its new facilities in the new campus at Gowa in 2017.

During the first years after its establishment in mid 1960s, most EESP students of Hasanuddin University continued and completed their undergraduate degrees in 2 (two) major universities in Indonesia, namely Gadjah Mada University (UGM) in Yogyakarta and Bandung Institute of Technology (ITB) in Bandung. The majority of the graduates from this period made their careers as academicians, or as engineers at the state-owned power company (PLN) and telecommunication (TELKOM), or started their own private companies related to electricity and telephone businesses.

The next stage of curriculum development was started in 1995. A new concentration was established by divided the Telecommunication and Electronic Engineering sub-study program into 2 (two), i.e. (1) The Telecommunication Engineering and Information Systems, and (2) The Computer, Control and Electronic Engineering sub-study programs. Common courses for both new concentrations were listed until the fourth semester. The basis of the curriculum establishment was the nationally decreed higher education curriculum development in Indonesia: Competency-Based Curriculum (KBK).

Most recently, a major change in the EESP curriculum was made related to the campus relocation to Gowa in 2015. The new campus is designed to support the Laboratory-based Education (LBE) system adopted by the Faculty of Engineering. By this time the EESP has established its Masters and Doctoral Degree programs supported by no less than 20 research laboratories and working groups. The process of curriculum development was managed by a Focus Group Discussion (FGD) on Curriculum 2015 in a 5 (five) year working period from 2012 to 2017, with a tagline: “From Competency To Contribution”.

The main idea of the recent curriculum change is to extend the competency-based curriculum previously implemented to a brand new curriculum called the “R&D-(research and development)-based curriculum”. The existing (since 1995) three concentrations were discontinued and all merged back to only one EESP. The curriculum structure is now composed of 4 (four) semesters of fundamentals and 2 (two) semesters of (elective) course packages to develop the competency, and the final laboratory-based, or R&D-based, 2 (two) semesters to make the contribution.